Top banner

The 10th Doon School Chess Tournament 2019

The 10th Doon School Chess Tournament was hosted in the ‘Kilachand’ Library.’ A total of 8 teams from Dehradun and Mussoorie are participating in the tournament which included St. Georges College, Mussoorie, Welham Girls’ School, Unison World School, Ann Mary School , St. Joseph’s Academy, The Welham Boys school and The Doon School A & B teams . There are total of 40 participants in the tournament.The standard of the tournament was very high as there were many internationally rated players who participated. The tournament was conducted by Mr. Amit Sharma, who is an International Arbiter and National Instructor He also conducted a pre-tournament workshop of 2 days for the participating schools.

In the closing ceremony, The Deputy Headmaster Mr. Kamal Ahuja gave away the trophies, mementos and certificates to the participating teams:

The results were as follows:

Winners: The Doon School A-Team With 10.0 match points and 15.5 game points
(The team members were: Harshvardhan Agrawal, Shathaayau B Patil, Arnavv D Jain and Aryan Kasera)

1st Runners-up: Welham Boys’ School. With 8.0 match points and 11.5 game points
(The team members were: Harshal Bajaj, Shreyansh Jindal, Suphal Sharma and Kushagra Didwania)

2nd Runners-up: Ann Mary School with 6.0 match points and 14.5 game points
(The team members were: Adnan Saeed Ahmad, Chetna Ramola, Aishwarya Maan and Harsh Joshi)

Aryan Kasera of The Doon School, Harshal Bajaj of Welham Boys’ School, Arnavv D Jain of The Doon School and Shreyansh Jindal of Welham Boys’ School also won the Board Prizes in their respective boards.

The tournament was played under the Swiss system where each team played 5 rounds. The tournament was organised by Mr.Chit Ranjan Kagdee the master in charge and Shatayu Patil the chess captain of the school.