At The Doon School, we value the most invaluable resource – Our Teachers

Our teaching faculty at The Doon School is essential to learning experience of all boys. Almost all of the teachers live on the campus and all teach in and out of the classroom are actively involved in the co-curricular education offered to each and every boy. Every teacher is assigned a tutorial group and about eight to ten boys. Academic, pastoral and full guidance are all part of the tutors role and the boys benefit immensely. Outings with tutors to explore the Doon Valley and midterm expeditions strengthen the bonds between the boys and their teachers.

The school has an ongoing teacher training and staff inset programme organized by the Teachers’ Centre, in conjunction with the academic deputies and the Headmaster. In 2011, the school began a whole staff teacher training programme with the Institute of Education, part of the University of London University.

At The Doon School, we value our teachers. They, in turn, not only teach the curriculum, but also inculcate an enthusiasm for learning and a questioning, critical disposition.

The following list is a current list of staff as at 1st August 2015 and will be regularly updated as and when appropriate.


Mr. Matthew Raggett: Headmaster, B.Sc. Math and Applied Physics, PGCE, MBA (Educational Leadership)

Mr. Philip Burrett: Second Master, M.A. B.Ed.

Mr. Prabhakaran Nair: Assistant Headmaster, M.A. B.Ed.

Mr. Kamal Ahuja: Deputy Head (Academic), M.Com. B.Ed P.G.D.B.A

Mr. Ashad Qezilbash: Dean of Student Welfare, M.A.



Mr. Aloke Tirtha Bhowmick: M.F.A. (Head of Department)

Mr. Arnab Mukherjee: M.V.A.

Ms. Banita Bhau: B.F.A. M.F.A.

Mr. Madan Singh: B.F.A. M.F.A. Dip.(Photography)

Mr. Sanjib Kumar Kalsi: B.A. M.F.A.

Mr. Srikanta Banerjee: B.A.(Visual Art) M.F.A.

Mr. Tapan Barui: B.F.A. M.F.A.

Mrs. Mohua Bhowmick: B.F.A.

Commerce, Accounts and Economics

Dr. Praveen Dwivedi: M.Com. Ph.D. (Head of Department)

Mr. Aseem Tripathi: M.Phil. M.A.

Mr. Ishan Saxena: M.Sc. B.A.

Mr. Mohammed Istemdad Ali: M.Sc. B.Ed.  (Asst. IB Coordinator)

Mr. Samik Das: M.Com. C.A.( Inter)

Mr. Shadeep Adhikari: M.Com. B.Ed.

Mr. Kamal Ahuja: Deputy Head(Academic), M.Com. B.Ed. P.G.D.B.A.


Mr. Rajesh Majumdar: M.Sc. B.Ed. (Head of Department)


Mr. Chitranjan Kagdee: M.Sc. B.Ed.

Dr. Sriniwas Swamy: M.Sc. B.Ed. Ph.D.  (IGCSE Coordinator)

Mr. Vivek Kumar: M.Sc. B.Ed.

Ms. Ruchi Sahni: M.Sc. B.Ed.


Mr. Anand Kumar Mandhian: M.Sc. B.Ed.

Mr. Arjun Singh Bartwal: Bachelor of Engineering

Mr. Manish Pant: M.Sc.

Dr. Ravi Kumar Sharma Ph. D, M.Sc., B. Ed.


Mr. Ashish Dean: M.Sc. B.Ed.

Mr. Gyaneshwaran: M.Sc.

Mr. Rajesh Majumdar: M.Sc. B.Ed.

Mr. Ramesh Kumar Bhardwaj: M.Sc. B.Ed. (CAS Coordinator)

Computer Science

Mr. Vishal Mohla: B.Sc. M.C.A. M.A.Ed. (Head of the Department)

Mr. Ambikesh Shukla: M.Sc. B.Ed. P.G. Diploma Electronic (Director of Social Service and Activities)

Design and Technology

Mr. Ankur Khare: PGDPD in Industrial Design (NID)


Ms. Priyanka Bhattacharya: M.A. M.Phil. (Head of Department)

Mr. Debasish Chakrabarty: M.A. M.Phil.

Mr. Ashad Qezilbash: M.A.

Mr. John Xavier: M.A. B.Ed.

Mrs. Jusbir Kaur Anand

Ms. Priya Chauhan: M.A. B.Ed.

Ms. Stuti Kuthiala: B.A.

Mr. Shrey Nagalia: M.A.

Mr. Supratim Basu M.A., M.Phil





Mrs. Purnima Dutta: M.A. B.Ed. (Head of Department)

Mr. Mohit Sinha: B.A.

Mr. Pratyush Vaishnava: B.A. P.G.D.B.M. P.G.D. (Commerce)

Mr. Piyush Malaviya: M.A. B.Ed.


Mr. Prabhakaran Nair: Assistant Headmaster, M.A. B.Ed.

Mr. Skand Bali: M.A. B.Ed.

Mr. Arvind Sadashiv Dethe: M.A. B.Ed.

Mr. Hemant Choudhary: M.A., M.Phil., B.Ed.

Political Science

Mr. Piyush Malaviya: M.A. B.Ed.


Ms. Anamika Ghose: M.A. M.S. B.Ed.

School Counselling Department

Ms. Anamika Ghose: M.A. M.S. B.Ed.

Dr. Linthoi Akoijam Ph. D,M.A., M.Phil

Hindi and Sanskrit

Mr. Manoj Pandey: M.A. (Head of Department)

Dr. Arvindanabha Shukla: M.A. Ph.D. (Director of Sport and Adventure Activity)

Mr. Devendra Mishra: M.A. B.Ed. P.G.D.T.

Mr. Dheeraj Kumar Upadhyay: M.A., B. Ed, M.Ed, D.Ed

Dr. Mohammad Hammad Farooqui: M.A. B.Ed. Ph.D.

Dr. Mohan Chandra Joshi: M.A. M.Ed. Ph.D.

Mr. Mrigank Pandey: M.A.

Dr. Vidukesh Vimal: M.A. M.Phil. B.Ed. Ph.D.


Dr. Mona Khanna: Ph.D. B.Ed. (Head of Department)

Mr. Anjan Kumar Chaudhary: M.Sc.

Mr. Chandan Singh Ghughtyal: M.Sc. M.A. B.Ed.

Mr. Manoj Kumar Sharma M. Sc., B.Ed

Mr. Manu Mehrotra: M.Sc. M.A. B.Ed.

Mr. Rahul Luther: M.Sc. B.Ed. M.Ed.

Mr. Pankaj Joshi: M.Sc. (IB Coordinator)

Mr. Sudhir Thapa: M.A. B.Ed. ()

Mr. Sunil Kumar: M.A., B.Ed


Mrs. Priya Chaturvedi: B.A. (Director, Music)

Mr. Avijit Chattopadhyay: Sangeet Visharad

Mr. Arun Kumar: M.Com.

Mr. Partho Roy Choudhury: M.A.

Mr. Adarsh Saxena: M.A.(Music)

Physical Education

Dr Arvindanabha Shukla (Director of Sport and Adventure Activity)

Mr. Nitin Chauhan: M.P.E. (Assistant Director of Sport and Head of Department)

Mr. Deepankar Sirohi: B. P.Ed

Mr. Inderjit Singh: M.A. NET

Mr. Jitender Tiwari: M.A. M.P.Ed., M.Phil.

The Careers Information, Education and Guidance Department

Mr. Kamal Ahuja: Deputy Head (Academic), M.Com. B.Ed P.G.D.B.A (Head of Department)

Ms. Prachi Nagalia: M.A.

Mrs. Aanchal Negi: Master in Finance

Mr. Stephen Magee: M.A.

Mrs. Preeta Priyamvada: M.A. MBA

Social Service

Mrs. Amrit Burrett: M.A.

Teacher Training Centre

Mrs. Anez Katre: Diploma in Textile Design


Mr. Kirti Pal Singh Tomar: B.P.E. M.P.E. D.Y. Ed. N.D.D.Y.


Ms. Ritu Bahl Mohan (HOD, Dept of Modern Foreign Languages)


Ms. Malvika Kala: M.A. German, M.Phil.


Dr. Ritu Mohan: M.A., Ph.D.


Ms. Mercedes Alonso Garcia: M.Phil., M.B.A.


Mr. Pankaj Kumar Das: M.Lib. A.D.I.S.

Amit Kumar Shaw: MS (LIS)

Mrs. Saira Bano: B.Lib.


Mrs. Abia Qezilbash: M.Sc. P.G. Diploma (Naturopathic Science)

Wellness Centre

Dr. Lanka Amar: MBBS DHM

Ms. Karma Sangmo: General Nursing

Mr. Shivraj Singh Negi: Diploma in Pharmacy

Mr. Kailash Chandra Tripathi: General Nursing


Foot House: Mrs. Kanchan Shukla: M.A.

Hyderabad House: Mrs. Meenakshi Tripathi: M.A.

Jaipur House: Mrs. Sonali Malaviya: M.A.

Kashmir House: Mrs. Sarabjeet Sandhu: B.A. B.Ed.

Martyn House: Mrs. Priyanka Majumdar: B.A.

Oberoi House: Ms. Kamal Kapoor

Tata House: Mrs. Ranjit Kaur: B.A



Foot House: Mr. Debasish Chakrabarty: M.Phil.

Martyn House: Ms. Stuti Kuthiala: B.A.

Hyderabad House: Mr. Sudhir Thapa: M.A., B.Ed.

Assistant Housemaster: Mr. Samik Das: M.Com. C.A. (Inter)

Jaipur House: Mr. John Xavier: M.A. B.Ed.

Assistant Housemaster: Dr. Vidhukesh Vimal: M.A. M.Phil. B.Ed. Ph.D.

Kashmir House: Mr. Anjan Kumar Chaudhary: M.Sc.

Assistant Housemaster: Mr. Manish Pant: M.Sc.

Oberoi House: Mr. Manu Mehrotra: M.Sc. M.A. B.Ed.

Assistant Housemaster: Mr. Nitin Chauhan: M.P.E.

Tata House: Mr. Skand Bali: M.A. B.Ed.

Assistant Housemaster: Mr. Ashish Dean: M.Sc. B.Ed.